Proverbs 26 reading

Proverbs 26

New International Version (NIV)

26 Like snow in summer or rain in harvest,
    honor is not fitting for a fool.
Like a fluttering sparrow or a darting swallow,
    an undeserved curse does not come to rest.
A whip for the horse, a bridle for the donkey,
    and a rod for the backs of fools!
Do not answer a fool according to his folly,
    or you yourself will be just like him.
Answer a fool according to his folly,
    or he will be wise in his own eyes.
Sending a message by the hands of a fool
    is like cutting off one’s feet or drinking poison.
Like the useless legs of one who is lame
    is a proverb in the mouth of a fool.
Like tying a stone in a sling
    is the giving of honor to a fool.
Like a thornbush in a drunkard’s hand
    is a proverb in the mouth of a fool.
10 Like an archer who wounds at random
    is one who hires a fool or any passer-by. 
11 As a dog returns to its vomit,
    so fools repeat their folly.
12 Do you see a person wise in their own eyes?
    There is more hope for a fool than for them.

13 A sluggard says, “There’s a lion in the road,
    a fierce lion roaming the streets!”
14 As a door turns on its hinges,
    so a sluggard turns on his bed.
15 A sluggard buries his hand in the dish;
    he is too lazy to bring it back to his mouth.
16 A sluggard is wiser in his own eyes
    than seven people who answer discreetly.

17 Like one who grabs a stray dog by the ears
    is someone who rushes into a quarrel not their own.

18 Like a maniac shooting
    flaming arrows of death
19 is one who deceives their neighbor
    and says, “I was only joking!”

20 Without wood a fire goes out;
    without a gossip a quarrel dies down.
21 As charcoal to embers and as wood to fire,
    so is a quarrelsome person for kindling strife.
22 The words of a gossip are like choice morsels;
    they go down to the inmost parts.

23 Like a coating of silver dross on earthenware
    are fervent[a] lips with an evil heart.
24 Enemies disguise themselves with their lips,
    but in their hearts they harbor deceit.
25 Though their speech is charming, do not believe them,
    for seven abominations fill their hearts.
26 Their malice may be concealed by deception,
    but their wickedness will be exposed in the assembly.
27 Whoever digs a pit will fall into it;
    if someone rolls a stone, it will roll back on them.
28 A lying tongue hates those it hurts,
    and a flattering mouth works ruin.

As long as I’ve been in the earth, I have had my experiences with God delivering me from mean and treacherous people. My parents want me to believe I will be able to live, work, get married and have a family because that is the will of God for His children.

Proverbs 26:22 has been a verse that has saved my life from despair. In this life you will have trouble but Jesus said do not be overcome with anxiety or fear I have overcome the world. At times you enemies might seem more powerful than God, but do not be afraid for the Lord keeps a rein on the  devil but you must keep your eyes on him.

Proverbs 26:24 is good truth to hide in your heart as you navigate through the stages of life in which you must set your heart on good things so that you do not do evil to yourself, your enemy, or people you love. When I thought I had peace with my enemy after I had lost my hope for marriage and following my heart to work in politics, my enemy chose to pour vinegar in my wounds because it is not in the nature of evil people to do good and love justice. Proverbs 26: 25 & 26 are true. I believed I could help people who were looking to reconcile our graduating class of 2004 but what they really wanted was strife and war. “Though their speech is charming, do not believe them, for seven abominations fill their hearts.” Friends who betrayed me (or people who believe they no longer have any obligation to me because they declared rebellion in their own hearts) will deceive themselves and others into believing they have changed and they are new women in Christ Jesus but they are wolves in sheeps clothing. 27 “Whoever digs a pit will fall into it;
    if someone rolls a stone, it will roll back on them.” It is evil to do evil to someone who has not hurt you or brought calamity into your life. The bible says that whoever digs a pit will fall into it. I do not want to test God in His ability to crush rebellion. I warn those who are inflamed with bitterness that they should cease from striving and quarreling because you will loose the battle when God comes to judge your family for messing with His family. My parents have served the Lord faithfully and they’ve decided to give me a fresh opportunity to excel in life. No one can cancel my destiny and no one is going to crush this expectation I have of hope, faith and love because that is what I sow every day in the lives of the students I serve. 28 A lying tongue hates those it hurts,     and a flattering mouth works ruin. Finally, I will not silently participate in my family or any one else’s family being targeted for sport or for petty games of who has more power and more influence in our community. We come in the name of the most High God. We are made in His image. You devil are defeated and so are your workers of iniquity. 

Leave a Reply

